Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
TI21/EBI cross bonding issue
Hello,

NR standard for EBI states that no cross bonding  (direct or indirect) is allowed between tracks of the same frequency.
Why this is an issue? I understand that impedance bond will block the frequency used for train detection and therefore this should not be a problem. Also with AC electrified railway almost everything is either directly or indirectly bonded to earth/rsc.

Cheers,

Magic
(07-09-2016, 01:57 PM)magicmaciej Wrote: Hello,

NR standard for EBI states that no cross bonding  (direct or indirect) is allowed between tracks of the same frequency.
Why this is an issue? I understand that impedance bond will block the frequency used for train detection and therefore this should not be a problem. Also with AC electrified railway almost everything is either directly or indirectly bonded to earth/rsc.

Cheers,

Magic

I am not an expert but I do know that there have been a number of problems with runaround paths such that a track has become falsely energised as a result of receiving the appropriate frequency from a different track.  London Underground certainly experienced serious problems on the Wimbledon line due to sneak paths via the air main, which is a gerally good but inevitably not perfect earth.

You'd need to read the standard carefully, but perhaps "cross-bonding" means from one rail of one track to a rail of another track in the same area for the purposes of sharing return current between parallel tracks (this sounds particularly applicable to 3rd rail do electrification to me); I'd agree that one way or another there will be some level of interconnection which cannot be avoided.